Sondheim Tribute

Musical Theater at the 2022 Grammys, From Bridgerton to Sondheim

Between the Grammy for Best Musical Theater Album and a tribute to Stephen Sondheim and other memorable music stars, a little bit of Broadway was brought to the Las Vegas strip where the Grammys took place on Sunday, April 3, 2022.

The Grammy for Best Musical Theater Album was awarded to The Unofficial Bridgerton Musical, written by Abigail Barlow and Emily Bear. Before becoming a Grammy-winning property, the project garnered a massive following on TikTok. In addition to The Unofficial Bridgerton Musical, the nominees for the award included Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Cinderella, Burt Bacharach and Steven Sater’s Some LoversGirl From the North Country, the 2020 Live Recording of Les Misérables: The Staged Concert, and Stephen Schwartz’s Snapshots.

Previous winners of this award include Jagged Little PillHadestownThe Band’s VisitDear Evan HansenThe Color Purple, and Hamilton.

The night also included a touching tribute to the late great Stephen Sondheim with a medley performed by Ben Platt, Rachel Zegler, Cynthia Erivo, and Leslie Odom Jr. that included “Not a Day Goes By,” “Send in the Clowns,” and “Somewhere.”


While none took the prize home, theater alums could be found across other categories. Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez (“Agatha All Along” from WandaVision), Benj Pasek & Justin Paul (“All I Know So Far” from P!NK: All I Know So Far), Jennifer Hudson & Carole King (“Here I Am [Singing My Way Home]” from Respect), and Leslie Odom, Jr. (“Speak Now” from One Night In Miami…) all had songwriting nominations for Best Song Written for Visual Media. Meanwhile in the Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media category, the film adaptations of Dear Evan Hansen and In the Heights, along with the musical comedy Schimigadoon! were all nominated, as well as David Byrne’s American Utopia for Best Music Film.

With the Oscars and Grammys wrapping up on consecutive Sundays, the Tony Awards are up as the next major awards ceremony on Sunday, June 12!