Santino Fontana and Lilli Cooper in the Broadway production of Tootsie the Comedy Musical

New Block of Tickets Announced for Tootsie the Musical

The new musical comedy Tootsie, currently dazzling audience’s at Broadway Marquis Theatre, is proving to be a hit! Not only is the production nominated for 11 Tony Awards including Best Musical, it has now announced a new block of tickets on sale through April 19, 2020. Tickets will go on sale to the general public tomorrow, Friday, June 7 at 10 AM EST.

Tootsie, which features an original score by David Yazbek (The Full Monty, The Band’s Visit) and a book by Robert Horn (13, Dame Edna, Back with a Vengeance), has been adapted from the classic Columbia Pictures film comedy of the same name and based on the story by Don McGuire and Larry Gelbart. The film, starring Dustin Hoffman, was produced by Punch Productions. Scott Ellis (She Loves Me, On the Twentieth Century), helms the Broadway production with choreography by Denis Jones (Holiday Inn, Honeymoon in Vegas). It tells the story of a talented but difficult actor who struggles to find work until one show-stopping act of desperation lands him the role of a lifetime – as the star of a new Broadway musical.

Recently, Tootsie garnered a major accolade, receiving the 2019 New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award for Best Musical.  It has been nominated for 11 Tony Awards, including Best Musical. Tootsie is a four-time Drama Desk Award winner and two-time Outer Critics Circle Award winner.

The Broadway production of Tootsie is led by Tony Award nominee Santino Fontana (Cinderella, Hello, Dolly!) as Michael Dorsey.  Also in the cast are Tony Award nominee Lilli Cooper as Julie Nichols, Tony Award nominee Sarah Stiles as Sandy Lester, John Behlmann as Max Van Horn, Tony Award nominee Andy Grotelueschen as Jeff Slater, Julie Halston as Rita Marshall, Tony Award winner MichaeL McGrath as Stan Fields, and Tony Award nominee Reg Rogers as Ron Carlisle.  The ensemble is composed of Sissy Bell, Barry Busby, Paula Leggett Chase, Britney Coleman, Leslie Donna Flesner, Jenifer Foote, John Arthur Greene, Drew King, Jeff Kready, Harris Milgrim, Adam Monley, Shina Ann Morris, James Moye, Katerina Papacostas, Nick Spangler, Diana Vaden, and Anthony Wayne.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals, The Disney Song Encyclopedia, and The Encyclopedia of Television Theme Songs. He maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.

Learn More About Tootsie