Nick Scandalios

Nick Scandalios to Receive Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Nick Scandalios, Executive Vice President of the Nederlander Organization, will be the 2018 recipient of the Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award. The news was announced on April 24, 2018 by the Tony Awards Administrative Committee. The Isabelle Stevenson Award is presented annually to a member of the theatre community who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service, or charitable organizations. Scandalios will be honored for his advocacy and dedication to LGBTQ families nationwide.

“Nick Scandalios is the Executive Vice President of the Nederlander Organization, one of the largest owners of legitimate theatres in the world, as well as one of the largest theatrical producing organizations in North America. Scandalios joined Family Equality Council’s Board of Directors in May 2008, but even prior to his board service Scandalios dedicated hours of his time volunteering to help further the rights and increase the safety of LGBTQ parents and their children. Scandalios was elected the Board Chair in 2014, speaking across the country and serving as a public spokesperson for LGBTQ families. Scandalios was instrumental in the Family Equality Council’s work, contributing to the movement’s success in winning marriage equality through the Windsor and Obergefell Supreme Court rulings.”

“Whatever Nick does, he does with passion, pride and purpose. Whether it’s his work on stage or off, he gives 100% of himself,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, President & CEO of the American Theatre Wing, in a statement. “In a time that is so critical for the LGBTQ community, his work and his commitment to the Family Equality Council has never been more important or inspiring.   We could not be more proud to present Nick with this year’s Isabelle Stevenson Award.”

Past recipients of this special Tony accolade include Phyllis Newman, David Hyde Pierce, Eve Ensler, Bernadette Peters, Larry Kramer, Rosie O’Donnell, Stephen Schwartz, Brian Stokes Mitchell, and Baayork Lee.  The Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award was inaugurated in 2009. This non-competitive honor is named for a longtime Chair of the American Theatre Wing.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals and maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.