The cast of School of Rock on Broadway
The cast of School of Rock on Broadway

School of Rock to Launch National Tour

School of Rock, the Broadway musical with a score by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Glenn Slater, and a book by Julian Fellowes, choreography by JoAnn M. Hunter and direction by Laurence Connor, will launch a national tour at Rochester, NY, at RBTL’s Auditorium Theatre in September of 2017. Webber, who is also the producer of School of Rock, made the announcement today.

The National Tour of School of Rock will feature Rob Colletti as Dewey, Lexie Dorsett Sharp as Rosalie, Matt Bittner as Ned, Emily Borromeo as Patty, Merrit David Janes as Dewey Alternate, Deidre Lang as Ms. Sheinkopf, Olivia Bucknor as Shonelle,Theodora Silverman as Katie, Chloe Anne Garcia as Marcy, Carson Hodges as Mason, Gianna Harris as Tomika, Gilberto Moretti-Hamilton as Freddy, Phoenix Schuman as Zack, John Michael Pitera as Billy, Theo Mitchell-Penner as Lawrence and Ava Briglia as Summer. The adult ensemble features John Campione, Patrick Clanton, Christopher Deangelis, Kristian Espiritu, Melanie Evans, Liam Fennecken, Kara Haller, Elysia Jordan, Jameson Moss, Sinclair Mitchell, Tim Shea and Hernando Umana. The kid’s ensemble features Rayna Farr, Bella Fraker, Alex Louis, Tommy Ragen, Gabriella Uhl, and Aiden Niklas Villa.

The musical is based on the popular 2003 film starring Jack Black, Joan Cusack, and Miranda Cosgrove. “School of Rock – The Musical is a hilarious new musical that follows Dewey Finn, a failed, wannabe rock star who decides to earn a few extra bucks by posing as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school. There he turns a class of straight-A students into a guitar-shredding, bass-slapping, mind-blowing rock band. While teaching these pintsized prodigies what it means to truly rock, Dewey falls for the school’s beautiful, but uptight headmistress, helping her rediscover the wild child within.”

School of Rock – The Musical was nominated for four Tony Awards in 2016, including Best Musical, Best Score (Lloyd Webber and Slater), Best Book (Fellowes), and Best Leading Actor in a Musical (Alex Brightman). Though it was overshadowed in a season that saw Hamilton sweep most of the awards, School of Rock has proven a popular crowd-pleaser that keeps drawing audiences in at the Winter Garden.  School of Rock – The Musical also won the 2017 Oliver award for Outstanding Achievement in Music.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals and maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.

Learn More About School of Rock