Complete casting for The Ferryman has been announced
Complete casting for The Ferryman has been announced

Complete Casting of The Ferryman Is Announced

The Broadway engagement of Jez Butterworth’s play The Ferryman, poised to open at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre, has announced its thirty-plus member cast. The production, which begins previews on October 2, 2018 toward an October 21, 2018 official opening, will be helmed by Sam Mendes (Cabaret, The Blue Room). Most of the cast from the acclaimed London production will reprise their roles on Broadway.

Paddy Considine, making his stage debut as Quinn Carney, will lead the production which also stars Laura Donnelly as Caitlin Carney, and Genevieve O’Reilly as Mary Carney. The ensemble will also feature Dean Ashton, Glynis Bell, Gina Costigan, Charles Dale, Justin Edwards, Fra Fee, Fionnula Flanagan, Tom Glynn-Carney, Stuart Graham, Mark Lambert, Carla Langley, Conor MacNeill, Colin McPhillamy, Rob Malone, Dearbhla Molloy, Glenn Speers, and Niall Wright. Rounding out the company are Audrey Bennett, Peter Bradbury, Trevor Harrison Braun, Will Coombs, Carly Gold, Holly Gould, Matilda Lawler, Michael McArthur, Bella May Mordus, Griffin Osbourne, and Brooklyn Shuck. Four babies, who join the cast to rotate in the role of Bobby Carney, will be announced at a later date.

“The Ferryman is set in rural Northern Ireland in 1981. The Carney farmhouse is a hive of activity with preparations for the annual harvest. A day of hard work on the land and a traditional night of feasting and celebrations lie ahead. But this year they will be interrupted by a visitor.”

Winner of the Evening Standard Awards for Best Play and Best Director, The Ferryman was developed by Sonia Friedman Productions and produced with Neal Street Productions and The Royal Court Theatre, opening at the Royal Court Theatre in May 2017 to critical acclaim. The sold-out transfer to the Gielgud Theatre in London’s West End will end its twice-extended, year-long run on May 19, 2018 following 410 performances, prior to opening on Broadway October 21, 2018.

The creative team for The Ferryman will include Rob Howell (scenic and costume design), Peter Mumford (lighting design), Nick Powell (sound design and original music),  and Scarlett Mackmin (choreography).

The Ferryman is produced on Broadway by Sonia Friedman Productions & Neal Street Productions with Ronald Frankel, Gavin Kalin Productions, Roy Furman/Ben Lowy, Scott M. Delman, Stephanie P. McClelland, Tulchin Bartner Productions, Kallish Weinstein Creative, Ron Kastner, Starry Night Entertainment, Scott Landis, Steve Traxler, Richard Winkler, Rona Delves Broughton/William Damaschke, 1001 Nights, Burnt Umber Productions, Rupert Gavin, Scott Rudin, Jamie deRoy/Catherine Adler, Sam Levy/Lauren Stevens, and Ramin Sabi/Christopher Ketner.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals, The Disney Song Encyclopedia, and The Encyclopedia of Television Theme Songs. He maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.

Learn More About The Ferryman