Ben Levi Ross, Zachary Noah Piser, Sam Primack

Dear Evan Hansen Announces New Broadway Evans, Jordan Fisher to Depart

Today is going to be an amazing day and here’s why. The Broadway production of Dear Evan Hansen has announced the next performers to take on the title character at the Music Box Theatre.

This spring, the show will welcome back Ben Levi Ross, who earned critical acclaim when he originated the role of Evan Hansen on the first North American tour after understudying the role on Broadway. Zachary Noah Piser, who has been part of the Dear Evan Hansen family since March 2019 and is currently the Evan alternate on Broadway, will then become the first Asian American actor to step into the role full-time. Following Zachary, Sam Primack, who began as an understudy on Broadway and is now the alternate Evan Hansen on Tour, will take over the role this summer.

It was also announced today that Talia Simone Robinson will play the role of Zoe Murphy beginning May 2022. Currently a Zoe/Alana understudy, Robinson will be the first Black actor to play the part full-time.

“The Dear Evan Hansen understudies and alternates are an extraordinarily hard-working and multi-talented group of actors and I’m very excited to see so many valued members of our family have the opportunity to lead the company throughout the next year,” Mindich said. “It’s also thrilling to welcome back Ben Ross, who originated the title role on Tour in 2018, but began his journey with the show as a triple cover on Broadway.”

Broadway’s current Evan, Jordan Fisher, will play his final performance on Sunday, February 20; Zachary Noah Piser will share the role with the Evan covers through March 20. Gabrielle Carrubba, currently playing Zoe Murphy on Broadway, will play her final performance on May 1.

Dear Evan Hansen reopened its Broadway production on December 11, 2020, and currently has three productions running across the globe, with its Broadway, North American Tour, and West End companies once again playing in tandem.

The current company of Dear Evan Hansen includes Jordan Fisher, Gabrielle Carrubba, Jessica Phillips, Christiane Noll, David Jeffery, Ivan Hernandez, Jared Goldsmith, Phoebe Koyabe, and Zachary Noah Piser, with R eese Sebastian Diaz, Linedy Genao, Nathan Levy, Mateo Lizcano, Dan Macke, Jane Pfitsch, Talia Simone Robinson, Asa Somers, Josh Strobl, and Nicole Van Giesen.

Dear Evan Hansen features choreography by Danny Mefford, scenic design by David Korins, projection design by Peter Nigrini, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and hair design by David Brian Brown; Jennifer Lord is the Natural Hair Consultant. Music supervision, orchestrations, and additional arrangements are by Alex Lacamoire. Ben Cohn is the Associate Music Supervisor. U.S. Casting by Tara Rubin Casting/Kevin Metzger-Timson. Vocal arrangements and additional arrangements are by Justin Paul. Danny Sharron is Senior Associate Director, Trey Ellett and Candis C. Jones are Associate Directors and Miranda Cornell is Assistant Director. Mark Myars is Senior Associate Choreographer and Jennifer Rias is Associate Choreographer. Judith Schoenfeld is the Production Supervisor. General Management by 101 Productions, Ltd.

Learn More About Dear Evan Hansen