Jagged Little Pill

Alanis Morissette to Perform with the Cast of Jagged Little Pill

Music icon Alanis Morissette, the composer whose songs have been turned into the recent Broadway hit Jagged Little Pill, will be performing with the cast of the musical this New Year’s Eve. Morissette and the cast will appear on Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2020. Broadcasting live from Times Square in front of an audience of more than a million people, the live event will begin at 8:00 PM ET on Tuesday, December 31. The program will air on the ABC Television Network.

Multi-platinum selling artist Post Malone will also be on hand, headlining Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2020 in his Times Square debut performance just minutes before the ball drops, with global sensations BTS and country music superstar Sam Hunt completing the lineup

“Ringing in the new year with this unbelievable roster of talent is sure to be a magical event,” said Rob Mills, senior vice president, Alternative Series, Specials and Late Night, ABC Entertainment. “We couldn’t be more excited to honor and share this iconic celebration with the world.”

“This marks the 48th anniversary of America’s biggest celebration of the year and will include 5½ hours of special performances and reports on New Year’s celebrations from around the globe. Ryan Seacrest will lead the traditional countdown to midnight from Times Square in New York City, with live onsite reporting from award-winning actress and co-host Lucy Hale. Multi-platinum artist Ciara will once again ring in the New Year from the West Coast as host of the Hollywood Party, while award-winning Broadway actor Billy Porter will host the 4th annual Central Time Zone celebration, live from New Orleans.”

Inspired by Alanis Morissette’s album of the same name, Jagged Little Pill opened at Broadway’s Broadhurst Theatre on December 5, 2019. The musical features a book by Academy Award-winning writer Diablo Cody, chronicling the story of The Healy’s, the seemingly perfect family whose cracks begin to show when a series of revelations threaten to destroy them. Jagged Little Pill is directed by Tony Award winner Diane Paulus (Waitress, Pippin).

Jagged Little Pill features Elizabeth Stanley,  Kathryn Gallagher, Celia Rose Gooding, Derek Klena, Sean Allan Krill, Lauren Patten, Antonio Cipriano, Yeman Brown, Jane Bruce, John Cardoza, Ken Clark, Laurel Harris, Logan Hart, Max Kumangai, Heather Lang, Ezra Menas, Kelsey Orem, Nora Schell, Kei Tsuruharatani and Ebony Williams.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals, The Disney Song Encyclopedia, and The Encyclopedia of Television Theme Songs. His latest book, Sitcommentary: The Television Comedies That Changed America, released on October 15. He maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.

Learn More About Jagged Little Pill