Daniel Yearwood
Daniel Yearwood

Daniel Yearwood to Join Broadway Cast of Sweeney Todd

After the recent announcement of Jordan Fisher’s departure from Sweeney Todd, the new Anthony has been revealed. Daniel Yearwood will be taking over the role of Anthony beginning June 21, 2023, at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre.

Yearwood’s most recent gig was only across the street from the Lunt-Fontanne, having played John Laurens/Philip Hamilton in Hamilton at the Richard Rodgers Theatre. His other Broadway credits include Ink and Once on This Island.

The cast of Sweeney Todd currently stars two-time Tony Award nominee Josh Groban and Tony Award winner Annaleigh Ashford as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett, respectively, alongside Jordan Fisher as Anthony, Gaten Matarazzo as Tobias, Tony Award winner Ruthie Ann Miles as Beggar Woman, Maria Bilbao as Johanna, Jamie Jackson as Judge Turpin, John Rapson as Beadle Bamford, Nicholas Christopher as Pirelli/Standby for Sweeney Todd, and Jeanna de Waal as Standby for Mrs. Lovett and Beggar Woman.

For the first time since 1980, Broadway audiences will experience Stephen Sondheim’s Tony Award-winning score as it was performed in the original production—with Jonathan Tunick’s original 26-player orchestration on an epic scale. Tony Award-winning director Thomas Kail (Hamilton) helms the return of this musical thriller starring Tony and Grammy nominee Josh Groban (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812) as Sweeney Todd, and Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford (Sunday in the Park with GeorgeKinky Boots) as Mrs. Lovett.

Learn More About Sweeney Todd