Sweeney Todd

Exclusive: Tony Winners Annaleigh Ashford & Ruthie Ann Miles on Sweeney

Broadway Direct sat down with 2023 Tony Award nominees Annaleigh Ashford and Ruthie Ann Miles, who both previously won Tonys in 2015, to discuss the daily Sweeney Todd experience onstage and backstage at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre and how the musical is transformative for audiences and cast members alike.

Stay tuned for more of Broadway Direct’s conversations with Tony nominees, and all things Tony Awards here.

Nominated for eight Tony Awards, Sweeney Todd stars Tony and Grammy nominee Josh Groban and Tony Award winner Annaleigh Ashford as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett, respectively, alongside Jordan Fisher as Anthony, Gaten Matarazzo as Tobias, Tony Award winner Ruthie Ann Miles as Beggar Woman, Maria Bilbao as Johanna, Jamie Jackson as Judge Turpin, John Rapson as Beadle Bamford, Nicholas Christopher as Pirelli/Standby for Sweeney Todd, and Jeanna de Waal as Standby for Mrs. Lovett and Beggar Woman.

For the first time since 1980, Broadway audiences will experience Stephen Sondheim’s Tony Award-winning score as it was performed in the original production—with Jonathan Tunick’s original 26-player orchestration on an epic scale. Tony Award-winning director Thomas Kail helms the return of this musical thriller with Tony winner Alex Lacamoire serving as Music Supervisor and choreography by Olivier Award winner Steven Hoggett.

Interviews by Leigh Scheps.

Learn More About Sweeney Todd