The 2018 Tony Awards
The 2018 Tony Awards

A Showstopper Tony Night Set For Sunday

We have all been anxiously awaiting the announcement of what will be performed at the 72nd Annual Tony Awards this Sunday. The annual awards ceremony, scheduled for June 10 from 8:00 PM ET to 11:00 PM ET on CBS, is always an evening of exciting surprises as well as thrilling performances from many of the nominated productions on Broadway. This year should prove to be no different, with performances by the casts of the 2018 Tony Award-nominated shows The Band’s Visit, Carousel, Frozen, Mean Girls, My Fair Lady, Once on This Island, SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical, and Summer: The Donna Summer Musical. Also, the show will feature a special performance from the 2017 Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen.

One of the evenings eagerly-anticipated highlights will be the previously announced appearance by Bruce Springsteen. Springsteen, who makes rare television appearances, will perform live on the Tony Awards telecast. He will receive a Special Tony Award for his ongoing engagement, Springsteen on Broadway, a once-in-a-lifetime theater-going experience for the Broadway stage.

The evening’s festivities will be hosted by past Tony nominees Sara Bareilles (Waitress) and Josh Groban (Natasha, Pierre, and the Great Comet of 1812). Held live at NYC’s Radio City Music Hall, the evening will feature appearances by: Uzo Aduba, Christine Baranski, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Melissa Benoist, Erich Bergen, Rachel Bloom, Matt Bomer, Rachel Brosnahan, Tituss Burgess, Claire Danes, Jeff Daniels, Robert De Niro, Brandon Victor Dixon, James Monroe Iglehart, Christopher Jackson, Billy Joel, Patti LuPone, Tatiana Maslany, Katharine McPhee, Matthew Morrison, Carey Mulligan, Leslie Odom, Jr., Kelli O’Hara, Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto, Bernadette Peters, Andrew Rannells, Kerry Washington, Ming-Na Wen, Marisa Jaret Winokur; Tony Nominees Tina Fey, John Leguizamo and Amy Schumer as well as Tony Award Lifetime Achievement recipients Andrew Lloyd Webber and Chita Rivera.

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theatre Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chair and Heather A. Hitchens is President & CEO. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2018 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2018 Tony Awards.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals and maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.