The Tony Awards

This weekend, the 72nd Annual Tony Awards ceremony is readying for its June 10, 2018 celebration. Presented live from the Radio City Music Hall in New York City, the event will be broadcast on CBS television from 8:00 PM to 11:00 PM (ET). The hosts for the star-studded event will be Broadway performers and stars of the pop world Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban.

The evening should prove to be a “Who’s Who?” of celebrities, with star appearances from the worlds of film, television, music, and, of course, the Broadway stage. Among the theatre glitterati will be Christine Baranski, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Melissa Benoist, Erich Bergen, Rachel Bloom, Rachel Brosnahan, Tituss Burgess, Jeff Daniels, Robert De Niro, Brandon Victor Dixon, Christopher Jackson, Billy Joel, Patti LuPone, Katharine McPhee, Matthew Morrison, Kelli O’Hara, Bernadette Peters, Kerry Washington, Ming-Na Wen, Marissa Jaret Winokur; Tony Nominees Tina Fey, John Leguizamo, and Amy Schumer as well as Tony Award Lifetime Achievement recipients Andrew Lloyd Webber and Chita Rivera. Uzo Aduba, Matt Bomer, Claire Danes, Armie Hammer, Tatiana Maslany, Leslie Odom, Jr., Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto, and Andrew Rannells are also expected to be a part of theatre’s night of nights.

Among this year’s nominees, it is expected that the four musicals nominated for Best Musical will perform, including scenes from The Band’s Visit, Frozen, Mean Girls, and SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical. Traditionally, musicals nominated in the Best Revival category also perform on the telecast. The casts of Carousel, My Fair Lady, and Once on This Island will most-likely be represented as part of the evening’s entertainment.

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theatre Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chair and Heather A. Hitchens is President & CEO. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2018 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2018 Tony Awards.

Mark Robinson is the author of the two-volume encyclopedia The World of Musicals and maintains a theater and entertainment blog at markrobinsonwrites.com.